Patch Birding and a British Tick – 8/iv/14

As this would be my last day in the area for a while I thought I would make the most of it. It worked out brilliantly with a British tick  being the result – a Dartford Warbler. As this a schedule 1 species I cannot reveal the location, but I saw two possibly three birds in the same area so things are looking positive for this years breeding season. It really did feel like spring with my first Swallow of the year passing overhead as I watched the warblers. Several Stonechats were also in the area as well as a Rock Pipit and good numbers of Linnet. A Gannet flew past offshore, where a Shag was also feeding.

Dartford Warbler 0001 Ced

Back at Blackpill, there were considerably more birds than there have been of late. A flock of approximately 400 Oystercatcher also held a pair of Ringed Plover, a summer plumage Dunlin and three Bar-Tailed Godwit. A very pleasant days birding.

Leave a Reply

