Malta Trip – Day 5 – 8/vii/14

The birding interest was to pick up over the next few days. A visit to some ancient temples at Hagar Qim was interesting, particularly when I heard a call that I didn’t recognize. I looked up to see a warbler with a strikingly short, white-tipped tail, flying down into some bushes nearby. I recognized it as a Fan-Tailed Warbler, another lifer for me, and I enjoyed watching it sing from an exposed perch for some time.

Fan-Tailed Warbler 0007 CedFan-Tailed Warbler 0018 Ced

Several others were then seen very well on the slopes above the sea cliffs, but the new highlight for the day was a pair of Blue Rock Thrush that were picked out at great distance in the heat haze. Another new species for me, and things were looking up.

Leave a Reply

