Back Home for Christmas – 13/xii/14

Having travelled home on the evening of the 12th, I fancied a bit of birding on my old patch. I headed out relatively late and headed up the hill to the top fields. Initially there was very little about. However, as I reached the higher fields, the usual winter flocks were present. Amongst the abundant Chaffinches were a few Goldfinches and a couple of Brambling. Unfortunately the flock was very flighty, so I didn’t manage good views (or photos) of the birds.

Mixed in with the finches were low numbers of Starling and Redwing and six Fieldfare! This is the highest count for this species I’ve ever seen at one time here (excluding flyover migrants) and it was probably the highlight of a pleasant morning.

Leave a Reply

