Patch Update – ii-iii/15

It’s been quite a while since my last post, so in this post I’ll try and get the blog back up to date.

March has been a fairly quiet month for me as I had to get through quite a bit of uni work, so as a result the only birding done was around the uni patch.

The highlights were:

Black Redstart – An adult male bird appears to have wintered on the ILS building (on campus). It was first seen by Ian Tew at the end of January, but was not reported until a few weeks later. I saw it well on the 5,26,27/iii/15, and even heard it singing on the 27/iii/15!

Photo - Douglas Mcgarvey

Photo – Douglas Mcgarvey

Stock Dove – A self-found bird was seen very well on the 25/ii/15. It was the third record for the area (and my first), and has stayed for just over a month.

P1250521 Ced P1250554 CedSummer migrants have also appeared, in the form of a few Chiffchaff and Blackcaps so far, and I’m sure more are on the way.

Leave a Reply

