The Big Week Begins – 22/vi/15

For a short while I had been planning a trip to the south and west of the UK in an effort to see some of the scarce breeding species. As the forecast was good for the middle of the week, I decided this was the time to do it.

As a warm up for the coming days, I did a bit of local birding around the Gwyddon valley. Around mid-afternoon I headed out along the valley, picking up many of the usual species along the way; Buzzard, Bullfinch, Chiffchaff, Willow Warbler, Garden Warbler and Blackcap. As I passed a recently felled area (which held Great Grey Shrike back in the winter) I heard a familiar call from deep in the young birch shrubs. It was a Whitethroat, and after a wait of about 20 minutes it showed briefly allowing for a few record shots. This was my first in the valley, and only the second record ever, so I was very pleased with this one!P1250764 Ced

P1250765 Ced2I added Wood Warbler to the day list a few minutes later, with brief views of a singing bird above the picnic site. The rest of the visit was unproductive, so I headed back a bit later.

Just before dusk, I headed out again and managed to see about three Nightjars before dark, and I heard several others. Walking back across the moors, the views were impressive as the sun set.

P1250766 Ced P1250770 Ced

Leave a Reply

