Back to the West for the Day – 23/vi/15

This was the first day of three with the car, and there were a few things that needed sorting in Swansea, so I was up at six, and heading down the road a short while later.

The first stop was Kenfig, where a Purple Heron had been seen the previous day. I quickly found the bird on my arrival, sat in a bush above the reeds on the far side of the pool. It was an immature bird (probably 2nd calendar year), and it showed well – if a little distantly – for the next hour or so.

P1250789 Ced P1250798 Ced

It eventually flew a short distance across the back of the pool and dropped into the reeds, so I took my leave, enjoying good views of a few Whitethroat and Dark-Green Fritillary on the way. It was nice to meet fellow NGB Scott Reid there as well.

Unfortunately the day took a turn for the worst, as I was busy in Swansea for longer than expected, but I did manage to get to Resolven by about 2:30 to have a look for Honey Buzzards with Emma Cole. Unfortunately, we didn’t manage to see any over the course of the next few hours, but I did get good views of a Common Shrew when I got home a bit later.

P1250881

Leave a Reply

