Scotland Trip – Days 6-7 – 21-22/xii/15

Day six was the last day of birding on the trip, and I decided to make the most of it, planning a trip to the Dornoch, Beauly and Moray Firths in the north.

I set out just before seven, arriving at Tain (on the Dornoch Firth) a short while after dawn. There were large numbers of wintering ducks present at close quarters in the bay. There were more than 1000 Wigeon alone, and similar numbers of Teal. I began sifting through them, and after the best part of an hour, I came across the bird I was looking for. A drake American Wigeon was on the water less than 20 metres offshore – a new species for me, and a very smart bird. Its apricot coloured flanks and pale head with metallic green eye-stripe and cream forehead meant identification was easy.

P1300524 Ced

P1300510 Ced

Also present here were good numbers of Shelduck, eight Shoveler, 16 Pintail, several Redshank and good numbers of Curlew.

I stopped in at the Edderton bay area next, where a few more waders were seen including Lapwing, Dunlin and Knot. The hoped for Scaup were not present though.

It was now 10:30, and so I began the drive south towards my next stop – Dingwall. An adult Ring-Billed Gull has wintered here for several years, but after spending an hour or so at its usual haunts – the boating lake and academy/library grounds – I had no luck. As I left, I decided to give the academy field one last check, and was relieved to see that it was back. It showed well over the next ten minutes, feeding down to a range of 10 metres. The relatively heavy bill with a broad black ring, and the yellow iris in the eye were seen well.

P1300620 Ced2

P1300555 Ced

P1300598 Ced2

P1300591 Ced

Pleased with this success, I continued south towards Beauly. A Snow Goose had been reported here, but unfortunately there was no sign of this bird. However, there was a wealth of other winter wildfowl including a remarkable 52 Whooper Swans on the river Beauly. There were several hundred Pink-Footed Geese in different flocks around the estuary, and plenty more Wigeon and Teal. I also came across a large flock of winter thrushes – Redwing and Fieldfare – in a stubble field nearby, and a number of Red Kites were in the area too.

P1300645 Ced

As the sun began to set, I followed the southern edge of the Beauly and Moray Firths, making my next (and final) stop at Nairn. The winds were very strong and bird activity was at a minimum. The highlights here were five Red-Breasted Merganser, a distant flock of Common Scoter, two juvenile Gannets, a Fulmar and a few Hooded Crows. A quiet end to a very enjoyable days birding, with 58 species seen. Not a bad trip over-all either!

Leave a Reply

