Shetland Trip -Day 9 – 4/x/16

As dawn broke, I grabbed a quick breakfast and drove the short distance back to Aith. I began to search the site, and covered it thoroughly during the first hour of light but with no sign of the bird. By this time, large numbers of other birders were arriving, so I decided to move on, realising that in all likelihood the bird had gone.

During the drive (the previous evening) I had noticed a promising looking area, and soon realised that this was the fabled burn at Houbie, where many very rare birds have been seen including Britain’s first Chstnut-Sided Warbler – I decided it would be worth a visit… My plan was to park at the south end and work my way upstream away from the sea towards a plantation some 150 metres up. The ditches and iris beds failed to produce anything of note, but a Chiffchaff appeared as I approached the plantation. I headed around and as I viewed the sheltered side I noticed a small bird working its way along the fenceline. Looking through the bins, I quickly realised it was a 1st-year Red-Breasted Flycatcher – a good self-found bird! It continued to work its was along the fence, so I sat quietly and was soon enjoying excellent views of the bird at only a few meters range!

p1320668-ced

It soon moved into the plantation so I decided to leave it and peace and try a new area.

As I drove I noticed a large flock (of several hundred) Golden Plover in a field near Tresta. I parked and began to scan. After a few minutes I noticed a strikingly pale bird. My initial thoughts were that it was an American Golden Plover, but something didn’t seem right. The supercillium was not particularly bold, and the birds shape was that of a Golden Plover, with only a short primary projection. After some discussion with other birders nearby (including Geoff Wyatt) it was concluded that this was simply a pale Golden Plover – an educational bird.

p1320724-ced

p1320705-ced

Several of the other Golden Plovers also showed well:

p1320634-ced

As we had been discussing this bird, news came through that the SWAINSON’S THRUSH has been refound. Everbody raced back to the site and was pleased to learn that the bird was still present, but was currently inside one of the ruined farm buildings. A crowd gathered a short distance away and intently watched a small hole in the roof, whilst one birder went inside. After a few tense moments the bird popped out and sat on the roof in the open for all to see! The neat eye ring was striking.

p1320730-ced

As it flew, the bold underwing pattern was seen, and I managed a poor quality image of that too:

p1320732-ced

It was quickly relocated, and showed well on the ground for a short time, showing the bold breast spotting and buff wash, before working its way back to the ruin and hopping inside where it was thankfully left in peace!

p1320735-ced

p1320739-ced

It was now early afternoon and I fancied a change of scenery, so I headed back to the ferry terminal and made for Unst. There, I drove north and arrived at Norwick with a few hours of light remaining. The highlight was a Little Bunting. This may have been the same bird as was seen on the 28th September, or could have been a new bird. Either way it was a pleasant way to round off a good day on the northern archipelago.

p1320745-ced

Leave a Reply

