Shetland Trip – Day 11 – 6/x/16

The final day of my trip dawned, and I decided to do some birding at Cunningsburgh on the south mainland. I met with two other birders from Wales and together we spent several hours working the site. Our reward was a total of eight Yellow-Browed Warblers (three self-found), a ‘tristis’ Siberian Chiffchaff, several Redwing, a Merlin and a ‘Greenland’ Wheatear (identified by the upright (tall) stance, extensive buff on the underside, brown feathers in the grey mantle and seven primary tips visible), see the pictures below:

p1320802-ced

p1320815-ced

p1320828-ced

And here are some pictures of the other migrants and vagrants in the area:

p1320835-ced

p1320841-ced

p1320790-ced

p1320779-ced

p1320776-ced

p1320761-ced

It had been a pleasant morning, though relatively quiet given the weather conditions. As the evening approached I bade farewell to the archipelago and boarded the ferry. As I did so, I was gutted to see that a Siberian Thrush had just been found on Unst! Ah well, you win some you lose some, and with it disappearing overnight it’s unlikely that I would have seen it anyway. Besides, I’d seen some fantastic birds during my visit so I wasn’t complaining!

In summary, it was an unbelievably good birding trip, just look at the list below:

PECHORA PIPIT, WHITE’S THRUSH, LANCEOLATED WARBLER, SWAINSON’S THRUSH, BRUNNICH’S GUILLEMOT, Red-Throated Pipit, Blyth’s Reed Warbler, Arctic Warbler, Radde’s Warbler (2), Dusky Warbler, Red-Flanked Bluetail, Arctic Redpoll, Short-Toed Lark, Red-Breasted Flycatcher (2), Black Redstart, Bluethroat (2), Red-Backed Shrike, Icterine Warbler, Yellow-Browed Warbler (50+), Common Rosefinch, Lapland Bunting (9), Little Bunting (2)

I’m sure I’ll be back one day!

Leave a Reply

